Recycle Bin is Sitecore’s tool to help you find and restore component items that have been deleted.


Recycle Bin Interface

An added benefit to storing webpage content within components is that it allows deleted items to be restored from Sitecore’s Recycle Bin. From the Sitecore Launchpad, select the Recycle Bin button to open the Recycle Bin tool.

 

  1. Control Ribbon - Buttons to perform operations to items such as Restore a item or Refresh the view.

  2. Search - Field to search the item table name, location, user names, etc.

  3. Table Headings - Sortable columns to group the item table by their title.

  4. Item Table - Table of deleted items in Sitecore’s memory.

Caution!
The Recycle Bin allows you to perform operations on items from ALL Sitecore users. Double-check you have the correct item selected before performing operations.

Finding Items

The Recycle Bin offers multiple ways to search and sort the items within its memory.

  • Search Field - Enter search terms will update the item table with any relevant results it has in memory. Example: Entering your username into the search field and hitting Enter will update the item table to only display items owned/modified by you.

  • Table Headings: Click - Clicking on any of the top column titles (name, location, date, by) will sort the item table by that heading. Example: Clicking on the By heading will update the item table entries sorted by username.

  • Table Headings: Drag - Dragging any of the top column titles into the area above the table will group the results by that heading. Example: Dragging the Date heading into the area above the table will update the item table entries by calendar date.

You can always return the item table back to its original order by clicking the Refresh button in the control ribbon at the top of the page.

Restoring Items

Once you have found the item you want to restore:

  1. Click on the item in the item table. The item will be highlighted in a light blue to show you have selected it.

  2. In the control ribbon at the top of the page, click on the Restore button. A small window will popup asking you to confirm the restoration of the item.

  3. If this is correct, click the blue OK button and the item will move itself back to the correct page and component it was originally deleted from.
    If this item was selected in error, click the grey Cancel button.


Was this helpful? We welcome feedback for this Sitecore documentation: Take the User Survey